Knoxville Area Urban League


 Knoxville Area Urban League’s

Walter S. E. Hardy, M.D.

Minority Scholarship Program

Scholarship Application Available Here

Recommendation Form Available Here


Application Submission Available – Monday, January 7, 2019

Application Submission Deadline – Friday, February 1, 2019 at 12noon

Scholarship Awardee(s) Notified – Friday, February 15, 2019

 Our winner(s) will be announced at our Annual Membership Luncheon on Wednesday, February 20, 2019. 


The Knoxville Area Urban League accepts applications for the Minority Scholarship Program in honor of Walter S. E. Hardy, M.D., one of the first African-American physicians in Knoxville, in December each year.

“This scholarship program honors the legacy of Dr. Walter S. E. Hardy and encourages minority students to follow his example by serving this community through careers in health and wellness,” said President and CEO Phyllis Y. Nichols. “It is encouraging to see the strong field of candidates who apply for the scholarships each year.”

The Urban League grants scholarships, starting at $1,000, to area minority college students who are pursuing degrees in health professions. To be eligible for the award, students must live in Knox, Anderson or Blount counties and be a full-time undergraduate student already accepted into a health-related degree program at an accredited college or university. College students in pursuit of a post-graduate degree are not eligible to apply for this scholarship.


Additional Application Requirements:

Applicants must have two completed recommendation forms from persons who are familiar with your academic and leadership abilities. One must come from an instructor or college administrator who is familiar with your academic work.

All recommenders will need to complete the  Scholarship Letter of Recommendation Form.


If you are interested in applying for the scholarship this year, click here, complete and submit your application by Friday, February 1, 2019

KAUL employees, board members, and their immediate families are not eligible to receive an award.


Previous Award Recipients:



2018 Scholarship Recipient: Therrin Wilson


PHY and awardees

2015 scholarship award recipients: Hoor Temuri (left) and Magdaleno Sanchez (right)

2014 scholarship award recipients: Savannah Clay (left), Benson Arnett (right)

2013 scholarship award recipients pictured left to right: Ashton Zanoni, Sarah Ferguson and Julia Ball.





Copyright © 2019 Knoxville Area Urban League Knoxville Web Design