Knoxville Area Urban League

KNOXVILLE AREA URBAN LEAGUE

Knoxville Area Urban League Staff

Phyllis Y. Nichols, President & CEO
pynichols@thekaul.org

Phyllis Young Nichols is President and Chief Executive Officer of the Knoxville Area Urban League. As chief executive since 2000, she has expanded the Urban League to be recognized as one of Knoxville’s premier organizations serving over 9,000 individuals and families each year through its 24 programs to provide a skilled and diverse workforce; to increase and retain homeownership; to support economic and small business development, and to advocate and enhance education efforts for students of color.

Recognized as a Senior Fellow by the National Urban League, her expertise in Board, Leadership and Affiliate Development has facilitated her work with the League and other non-profit organizations throughout the country.

Her community involvement has included many boards, taskforces and committees including past president of the Executive Women’s Association. Nichols is the Immediate past Chair and founding Trustee of the Great Schools Partnership, the public education foundation for Knox County Schools.  She is a board member of the East TN Foundation, Knoxville Symphony, SunTrust Bank, and Tennova Hospital Metro Board.

Phyllis Y. Nichols has received numerous awards and recognitions including the Women of Achievement from the Tanasi Girl Scout Council and the YWCA “Tribute to Women” Humanitarian Award.  In 2010, she received the “Be More” Person of the Year Award from East TN Public Television and the University of TN College of Communications and Information –Diversity Award.  In 2013, the TN Human Rights Commission recognized Phyllis Y. Nichols for her advocacy for civil rights and social justice and she was recognized with the “Women of Power” Award by the National Urban League. The YWCA in its Anniversary Tribute to Women, named Phyllis Y. Nichols as one of Knoxville’s 30 most remarkable women who have impacted the community in the last 30 years.

Ola Blackmon-McBride
Vice President
oblackmon-mcbride@thekaul.org

Terrence Carter
Director of Economic & Business Development
tcarter@thekaul.org

Andrea Crouse
Executive Assistant to Phyllis Nichols
acrouse@thekaul.org

Gladys Farmer
Senior Workforce Advocate
gfarmer@thekaul.org

Felix Harris
Director of Lending
Housing Counselor
fharris@thekaul.org

Bill Myers
Workforce Development Counselor
bmyers@thekaul.org

Ebony Petty
Program Assistant
epetty@thekaul.org

Jackie Robinson
Workforce Development Specialist
Certified Rehab Counselor
jrobinson@thekaul.org

Brenda Roper
Director of Finance and Human Resources
broper@thekaul.org

General information: info@thekaul.org

Copyright © 2017 Knoxville Area Urban League Knoxville Web Design